Church History lawfordchurch1

Lawford Church is most renowned for its 14th C Chancel and in particular the eight stone-framed windows which together with the construction of the external buttresses permitted the provision of a tall enclosed space extremely well lit for the time. Five of the patterns (surrounding the windows) are considered quite unusual but in all they present a fine example of the ‘English Decorated’ style of Gothic architecture leading to the claim that the Chancel is one of the most splendid monuments of its date in the county.

The north east window is unique among the eight in portraying people and humour. The revellers are dancing, wrestling, playing instruments and holding each other by the leg. The artistry of the south wall arcade is similarly skilled and inventive. …. The ogee arches, the spandrels and the cill at the top of the arcade are richly carved in deep relief. The piers between have a diaper or squared pattern of flower heads. The subjects in the carvings are in contrast to the more secular work of the window arches having figures robed to the ankles playing the portable organ, psaltery, glittern , organistrum and harp………………..

a fine example of the ‘English Decorated’ style of Gothic architecture

From the earliest times the history of the Church is very much linked to that of nearby Lawford Hall and this is the probable reason why the church stands in the countryside away from the main village. The Hall and church have been closely associated since the 14th Century and the chancel was almost certainly built by Sir Benet de Cokefield, Lord of the Manor and the owner of the Hall and the Church in the year 1340. From this date until the middle of 16th century there is little in the way of evidence for a connection.

This information is taken from a booklet produced by Tom Judson RIBA MRTPI, further copies of which are available in the church.